Contact your local county Extension office through our County Office List.

Close Icon
Science-based gardening information for Colorado communities from CSU Extension, Denver Botanic Gardens, and Green Industries of Colorado.

2202 – Colorado Water Divisions   arrow

All of the water in the state of Colorado falls as precipitation, and all of the rivers that flow through our state end outside of Colorado’s borders. This is why Colorado carefully manages our state’s water, through a well-organized system of water divisions.

Colorado is divided into seven water divisions, each organized around a major drainage basin, or group of rivers.

  1. Division One is in the South Platte River basin. It includes: Denver, Aurora, Boulder, Fort Collins, Greeley and Fort Morgan.
  2. Division Two is in the Arkansas River basin. It includes: Colorado Springs, Pueblo, Buena Vista, Salida, Trinidad and Leadville.
  3. Division Three is in the Rio Grande basin and includes: Alamosa, Monte Vista, Del Norte, Creed and Saguache.
  4. Division Four is in the Gunnison, San Miguel, and a portion of the Dolores River Basin. Cities in Division Four include: Gunnison, Delta, Grand Junction, Telluride and Ouray.
  5. Division Five is in the Colorado River basin, but excludes the Gunnison River basin. Therefore, Glenwood Springs, Aspen, Vail, Dillon and Eagle are in Division Five.
  6. Division Six is in the Yampa, White and North Platte river basins, and includes the towns of: Craig, Meeker, Rangely and Walden.
  7. Division Seven is in the San Juan and Dolores river Basins. So, it includes the towns of Durango, Pagosa Springs, Bayfield and Dove Creek.

Tell us what you think!

Do you have a question? Try Ask an Expert!